PDA

View Full Version : Overeem: "Fedor is the name to beat and I am the chosen one who can do this"

Harrie Nak
13-05-2010, 13:40
Alistair Overeem has a hit list and after he puts away Brett Rogers, he has his sights set on only one fighter: Fedor Emelianenko.

With Overeem just days away from his first title defense of the Strikeforce heavyweight belt, the Dutch fighter respects the opponent he's about to face on May 15, but doesn't see much struggle in getting past him.

Once he is past him, Overeem says Fedor and his management team have no excuses left and must face him and settle it in the cage once and for all.

As for Brett Rogers getting a shot at his title, he simply says they pay me to fight, and that's what I'm going to do.

"I am a pro fighter. I have signed several contracts through my management with different promoters and I fight if the price is right. I would have wanted to fight against Fedor, but I guess his management has other ‘priorities’ for him," said Overeem in an interview with MMAWeekly.com "So I will prove to the world after I win against Rogers that Fedor must accept the fight with me."

What is the ultimate hold-up in Overeem facing Fedor? Is it Strikeforce? Is it Fedor himself? Overeem chalks it up to one word.

"Politics," Overeem answered. "I am the current champion, but the management of Fedor said no."

Overeem went on to explain the backtalk and harsh words that came from Fedor's manager, Vadim Finkelstein, and that when he beats Rogers they will have no choice but to sign for the fight that he's been requesting for over a year.

"This Vadim guy apologized to me. First Vadim said he did not say those things he said about me then some reporter from sports.ru taped the conversation and brought the tape out in the open," Overeem revealed. "It made him look like a fool and he apologized.