PDA

View Full Version : Travis Lutter Interview

Nicky
12-11-2004, 07:00
Jiu-jitsu website Austinbjj.com recently interviewed Travis Lutter. Here's what Lutter had to say (interview by Xena):

Xena: Welcome Travis. Real quick, can you give a brief bio of your career in BJJ and when you opened your academy?

Lutter: I started training BJJ when I am moved here in August of 1997. I went to the world's in 1998 as a blue belt, and took 2nd. In 2000, I went to the worlds again as a purple belt and placed 3rd. I also won the American qualifier to go to ADCC where I lost my first match Comprido. I won the American qualifier again in 2001 and lost another first round match to Saulo Riberio. Since then I have been focusing more on NHB. I won the USS that Rorian Gracie put on. I also won my first fight in the UFC against Marvin Eastman.

Xena: Let me get right to a certain subject first. You dominated the Ultimate Submission Showdown. Rorion had contacted you to set up a super fight/rematch with his son Ryron Gracie. The match fell through, and you were not well. There are many threads on the internet that are still wondering what happened. Can you state your illness, and knowing you as a fighter Travis, I know you didn't want to drop out. When did you finally decide?

Lutter: I dropped out about 11:00 AM after talking to Carlos (Machado) . He advised me that I shouldn't compete because I was very sick with an upper repertory infection. I wanted to (fight) but there was just no way I would have competed anywhere close to the top of my game.

Xena: At the first USS, there were some good grapplers. Munson and Avellan are two good grapplers. You defeated Lance Campbell by submission, Avellan 15 x1, and Ryron Gracie 13 x 0. It seemed easy, but you and I know it never is. Was there any specific training you did, or just the usual training with more mat time?