PDA

View Full Version : Interview : THE FIGHT PROFESSOR

Sjaak
23-12-2004, 20:19
Ik weet niet of dit al eerder is geplaatst maar ik kreeg het zojuist toegestuurd vanuit Amerika. Als het oud nieuws is kan je het verwijderen.

A PEAK INSIDE THE MIND OF "THE FIGHT PROFESSOR"

Stephen Quadros talks about mixed martial arts and the upcoming film, "Pit Fighter"

By Shihan Eddie Morales

EM: What is your background in the martial arts?

Stephen Quadros: I started training in the 1970’s in Tae Kwon Do with master Soonho Song in Santa Cruz, California. He was already a 5th dan in Judo and Hapkido and a 6th dan in TKD at that time and had a huge impact on me. What I really liked about his approach is that he ultimately trained our minds. I actually started working out in the arts BEFORE I saw the late great Bruce Lee. My reasons for beginning in martial arts training was I wanted to be able to adequately defend myself. I had already been in a number of fights and had some success but like many youths, I lacked confidence and a sense of focus. Once I started training I felt at home. I had found a release for some of the wild energy that was bottled up inside me. I have continued my studies when I moved to Los Angeles to pursue my music career by studying with Shihan Tak Kubota, Sifu Konrad Wallkes (deceased) and finally ended up at the now defunct Jet Center, where I spent five years under Pete “Sugarfoot� Cunningham. I started teaching in the late 1980’s upon the encouragement of Mr. Cunningham and Don “The Dragon� Wilson. In the early 1990’s I became an advocate of the no holds barred approach, which eventually blossomed into what we today call ‘mixed martial arts’. In 2002, I co-wrote “Bas Rutten’s Big Books Of Combat�. I was a columnist/contributing editor for Black Belt magazine for over three years and then Black Belt turned my monthly column into a magazine called “Fightsport With Stephen Quadros�.