PDA

View Full Version : Why Are There Tournments?

Sachet
12-02-2005, 05:05
Would anyone from MixFight like to have their picture put in the next issue of the MA Question of the Month?

Ironlife eZine MA Question of the Month
due date 2/20

hiya guys~
If you don't know, I'm still learning about MAs so you might think this question is crazy~

I recently watched a movie called Blood Sport on TV.
To be honest, I turned it on mainly because I saw Jean Claude Van damme's name in the TV guide.
It was really good in my opinion, well.. except when the fights got ugly since I'm not big on violence and then I missed parts because I wasn't watching them punch each other.
Anyway, sections of the movie made me realize that the art, philosophy and spiritual aspects of MAs can't be learned through books or through just any of the many MA schools listed in the yellow pages. The disciplines are passed down from generation to generation by way of direct contact with someone truly knowledgeable.

I have also been reading alot regarding MAs during the past year and I'm given the distinct impression that the philosophy behind the art teaches you NOT to fight. If that's true, why are there tournaments?
Which MA do you practice and have you ever competed outside your training facility? If so, do you think the great masters of past are rolling over in their graves knowing you're competing for prize money and awards?

Justinian
12-02-2005, 09:25
First of all, Bloodsport is one of the best movies of Jean Claude van Damme :thumbs: I really liked that movie and probably saw more then 4 times or so.