PDA

View Full Version : ernesto hoost interview

MB667
21-11-2006, 20:49
The victor
At age 41, Ernesto Hoost is about to retire. But the shelf of the greatest champion in the history of K-1 still has room for another trophy
By Rafael Quintanilha / Photos: Courtesy FEG

He is the greatest fighter in K-1 history. Ernesto Hoost, who at age 15 began in kickboxing because he wanted to be cool and in 1989 was world savate champion, was born to fight like few others. With almost one hundred wins as a professional, this Suriname-born Dutchman, whose technique inspired the nickname Mr. Perfect, prepares to quit fighting at the end of the year and become the only five-time K-1 World Grand Prix. Unafraid to face off against this living legend, GRACIEMAG.com spoke with Hoost in an exclusive interview, from the Netherlands.

You’ve been training at Johan Vos’s academy for a long time. Have you ever thought of moving?
I’ve been training there now for 19 years. But I’m not training with Vos right now, we had disputes about some things, but he sold the academy, so right now I’m not training with him, but I’m training myself. Sometimes we need to make some decisions for ourselves.

That was unexpected!
I thought things were wrong for a long time now and now I could do something about it. Things were very wrong. But he sold the gym and I’m still training there.

Have you trained Jiu-Jitsu with him?
A little bit, some basics, but not really serious. I like it, but it’s not really my thing. I was too busy with kickboxing.

What about MMA? Still think about doing it?
I know I will never be as good at MMA as in K-1, so I don’t want to be second best.

You once said your loss to Francisco Filho got you feeling pretty bad. How so?