PDA

View Full Version : Interview met Antoni Hardonk over oa carriere en gevecht Mir

redjuh
26-08-2007, 08:53
Antoni talks about his career and his upcoming match with Frank Mir.

Hailing from Holland, Antoni Hardonk, leaves behind a prestigious career in K1 to dive into Mixed Martial Arts full time. At 5 and 3 he's had mixed results, but no opponent has been able to stop the 6'4 fighter whose turned his focus to adding a ground game to his already formidable striking abilities. He's facing former UFC heavy-weight champ Frank Mir Saturday August 25th at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Nevada. We had a chance to talk with Antoni as he prepares for his next fight.

Bloodyknux- Who are some of the guys you are training with, and tell me about Vos Gym?

Antoni Hardonk- I’ve been training with Vos gym for almost 15 years. I started with Karate, and then Kick-Boxing. I began to compete professionally in Kick-boxing and had a few fights in K-1. I train with the likes of Ivan Hippolyte, Ernesto Hoost and Jerrel Veneetian. Our team fell apart a few years ago, and I felt I needed to develop myself even more. I didn’t have that many fights. At that time I started to train Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu back in Holland, which I liked a lot. Even though the lever wasn’t that high, it was a lot of fun. From there I trained at the Rickson Gracie academy for a few weeks. I came to Los Angeles for a few months and I stayed here and I totally devoted myself to training jiu-Jitsu. I have my blue belt right now, and I hope to receive my purple belt very soon. Last year I got interested in the UFC, and from there I contacted the UFC and signed a contract with them.