PDA

View Full Version : Groot Bas Rutten interview

Tony
16-01-2008, 12:45
van mijn forumbuddy RenzoBrad van het FOK! MMA topic:

http://punchdrunkgamer.com/images/stories/bas2.jpg

Bas Rutten: Living Mixed Martial Arts
By Dave Carpinello

In a PunchDrunkGamer exclusive, Dave Carpinello had a chance to talk with MMA Legend and the host of HDNet’s Inside MMA; Bas Rutten about his training, Kimbo Slice and the world of mixed martial arts.

PDG: Thanks for taking the time today. How is training going?

Bas: My personal training has been…what can I tell you? Amazing. I started training about a month ago and of course I am
doing the Bas Rutten MMA workout. Ask anyone who has done the work out and they will tell you it is tough. What can I say though? It is going great. Yesterday I did 10 rounds of that workout and after that I sparred six rounds with Kimbo. That was the first time I had sparred like that since my last fight. After that I rolled for about 20 minutes and when I was done I was still ready to go.

PDG: So you're working out pretty hard. Is there any chance that you will have a comeback fight this year?

Bas: No, I am not going to come back. My knees just can't take it anymore and I want to concentrate on getting Kimbo ready for his fight next month and the fights that will follow that one.

PDG: Speaking of Kimbo; his fight with Tank Abbott is about amonth away. How is he progressing in his training?

Bas: He's doing great, he is really moving along and like I said before, he really hits hard. I think once he starts connecting with those punches his opponent is going to start thinking “oh crap, what did I get myself into?”. He is also not afraid to get hit hard which is really good. He listens really well to the instructions that he is given and that is going to help him.

PDG: Are you surprised that his third fight is against Tank? Some would say that he is a little beyond his prime.