PDA

View Full Version : Interview with Michael "The Voice" Schiavello

Kingster
12-12-2009, 02:06
(Kwam dit interview tegen op fightclub108.nl , enjoy!)

Michael Schiavello, you love him or hate him. Fact is that he is the man about who is spoken even more than some fighters. But everybody definitely has got an opinion about him. He got famous with his 1001 quotes during the fights. The way he comments is always so impassioned, it is just very contagious! I thought it was time to ask the man behind “ The Voice” a few questions.

http://www.thevoiceonline.info/userimages/The%20Voice%20Michael%20Schiavello.jpg

My first question is who the hell is Irene? Every time a fighter hits the canvas, you scream “Goodnight Irene”. Who is she?

Haha. Ironically my girlfriend's name is Irene but she is not the reason "Goodnight Irene" has become my catch-cry for a knockout. I have been using this catch-cry for 15 years and it is an hommage to my love for professional wrestling and my all time favourite commentator, the late Gorilla Monsoon. There used to be a wrestler called Adorable Adrian Adonis and he had a finishing move that was a variation of the sleeper hold. Gorilla Monsoon used to always call it the "Goodnight Irene" so I adopted that as my catch-cry for a knockout. It is just a weird coincidence that I now have a girlfriend named Irene.

Where does The Big Kabosh come from and how did you come up with it?

I made this term up some time ago because I wanted something I could scream during a knockout. You know the old Batman TV show when Batman hits a bad guy and you see words like POW! and KABOOM! and BANG!... well I invented BIG KABOSH!

How did you become an international play-by-play sports presenter and commentator for the K1?